I love books… that double as pillows.

I would like to start this post with a big ‘Happy Birthday!’ to Elijah Redding, who came into this world May 4, 2011. And congratulations to his wonderful parents, Dickie and Bethany.

When my husband and I got word that his cousin and wife were expecting we knew no ordinary gift would do. I had seen this project in one of my sewing books and immediately thought of them. Of course I put my own spin on it, coming up with a little story called “How to Make a Rainbow”. The book consists of 10 soft ‘pages’ made from pre-washed flannel, embellished with various images made from equally as soft pastel patterned flannel fabric – educational, yet snuggly! It was fun to try out some new sewing techniques as well (hand embroidering and applique). I was really please with the finished project and it felt wonderful to send along a gift with lots of care and love behind it. Check it out for yourself!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment